Benjamin Britten: Cello Suite No. 1, Op. 72 | Ben Swartz, cello




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Aug 2, 2015

Borne from the collaboration between English composer Benjamin Britten and Soviet cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, the three Britten Cello Suites stand as a towering megalith in the solo cello literature. Written between 1964-71, the Suites are among the most conceptually varied and technically demanding works written in the 20th century; and, in their extreme use of extended techniques, have come to redefine the cello’s potential as a solo instrument. Moments of ineffable poignancy, subtle humor, breathtaking showmanship, and an almost vocal lyricism define their performance. Paying homage to a half-century since their initial conception, cellist Ben Swartz breathes new life and a uniquely virtuosic spirit into the Suites.

Cello Suite No. 1, Op. 72
Canto Primo
I. Fuga
II. Lamento
Canto Secundo
III. Serenata
IV. Marcia
Canto Terzo
V. Bordone
VI. Moto Perpetuo e Canto Quarto

Videographer: Scott Quade



to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...