Prelude on the Name "MAURICE RAVEL" (2015)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Dec 8, 2015

Music by Anthony L. Sanchez (b. 1988)
Quotations from Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

John Cooper, viola
Peng-Chian Chen, piano

Score available now on Patreon: https://bit.ly/2SRaCBu

Program Notes

I composed this brief chamber piece for viola and piano to commemorate the 140th anniversary of the birth of French composer Maurice Ravel (1875-1937). In creating this work, I devised an alphabetical grid to translate the letter of this composer’s name to music. I, then translated his birth year (1875) and this year (2015) into pitch-classes: (DbAbGF) and (DCDbF)
On another level, Prelude on the Name “MAURICE RAVEL” serves as a collage piece with quotations from some memorable Ravel piano compositions: Miroirs (1901), Le tombeau de Couperin (1914-17), Sonatine (1905), and Juex d’eau (1901). I have treated these quotations carefully by transferring much of the melodic materials to the viola and matching the quotations with the alphabetical realization of Ravel’s name. In this way, this prelude demonstrates the musical past connecting and blending in with the present.

As of 2008, the music of Maurice Ravel has been "Public Domain" in France. It will be "Public Domain in the US in 2019.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...