• Rondo alla Turca (Turkish March) on Glass Harp - Mozart K331

    190K views 1 year ago
    Rondo Alla Turca (Turkish March) by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (K331) played on glass harp by Robert Tiso.

    Information about the glass harp: http://www.roberttiso.com/

    The Piano Sonata No. 11 in A major, K. 331 (300i), by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is a piano sonata in three movements. It is uncertain where and when Mozart composed the sonata; however, Vienna or Salzburg around 1783 is currently thought to be most likely (Paris and dates as far back as 1778 have also been suggested). The sonata was published by Artaria in 1784, alongside Nos. 10 and 12 (K. 330 and K. 332)

    All of the movements are in the key of A major or A minor; therefore, the work is homotonal. A typical performance of this entire sonata takes about 20 minutes.[2]

    Movement One- Theme And Variations

    Since the opening movement of this sonata is a theme and variation, Mozart deified the convention of beginning a sonata with an allegro movement in sonata form. The theme consists of two 8 measure sections, each repeated, a structure shared by each variation. The tempo marking is "Andante Grazioso (Walking pace, gracefully)". It is in the key of A major.


    Movement Two - Menuetto and Trio. The second movement of the sonata is a standard minuet and trio movement in A major. The minuet is 40 measures long, and the trio is 52.

    Movement Three- Rondo Alla Turca (Turkish March).

    The last movement, "Alla Turca", popularly known as the "Turkish March", is often heard on its own and is one of Mozart's best-known piano pieces.Mozart himself titled the rondo "Alla Turca".[3] It imitates the sound of Turkish Janissary bands, the music of which was much in vogue at that time.[4] Various other works of the time imitate this Turkish style, including Mozart's own opera Die Entführung aus dem Serail. In Mozart's time, the last movement was sometimes performed on pianos built with a "Turkish stop", allowing it to be embellished with extra percussion effects. The form of the rondo is A-B-C-D-E-C-A-B-C-coda, with each section (except the coda) being repeated twice.

    Section A- This section, in A minor, consists of a rising sixteenth note melody followed by a falling eighth note melody over a staccato eighth note accompaniment. It is nine measures long.

    Section B- This section introduces new material in a melody in thirds and eighth notes before varying the A section with a cresendo before falling back to piano.

    Section C- A forte march in octaves over an arpeggiated chord accompaniment. The key changes to A major.

    Section D- A piano continuous sixteenth note melody over a broken chord accompaniment.

    Section E- A forte scale-like theme followed by a modification of section D.

    Coda- A forte theme consisting mostly of chords (arpeggiated and not) and octaves. There is a brief piano restatement of the theme in the middle of the coda. The movement ends with alternating A and C-sharp octaves followed by two A major chords. Show less
    Read more
  • Uploads Play all

    This item has been hidden
  • Popular uploads Play all

    This item has been hidden
  • This item has been hidden
  • Glass Harp - Robert Tiso Play all

    This item has been hidden
to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...