The Bible Reading Fellowship's story started in an Anglican church in Brixton, south London. The vicar, Revd Leslie Mannering, was talking with one of the staff at the church about the spiritual needs of the church.
In January 1922, The Fellowship of St. Matthew came into existence, aiming to develop the spiritual life of the parish in the areas of prayer, Bible reading and communion.
A new monthly leaflet was devised which provided Bible passages for daily reading with brief explanatory notes and prayer needs for the parish, the wider church and the world.
By the end of 1926, several other churches had adopted the scheme, bringing the total membership up to 1,500. With the growth of numbers, some changes in organisation were necessary. In due course, the name of the Fellowship changed from 'The Fellowship of St. Matthew' to The Bible Reading Fellowship (BRF).
Explore our work at https://www.brf.org.uk/