• 'Classics Rock!' Trailer for the new album from Pete Downes

    355 views 1 year ago
    'Classics Rock!' the new album by Pete Downes featuring famous classical themes with classic grooves will be on digital general release from 16 July. More info at petedownes.com.

    Tracklist and info

    1 Prelude no. 1 in C Major Ave Maria

    Based on J.S. Bach’s opening Prelude from The Well Tempered Clavier. Part of Gounod’s Ave Maria theme is incorporated. However, the improvisation allowed the retention of Bach’s original structure.

    2 Bourrée Shredded

    Based on J.S. Bach’s famous Bourrée from Lute suite BWV996. Here given a contemporary rock treatment.

    3 Moonlight Sonata Reggae

    Beethoven’s opening movement always suggested to me an undercurrent of straight eighths cutting across the triplet eighths – as in a reggae feel!

    4 Prelude no. 2 in C Minor Disco

    An arrangement inspired by Michael Jackson’s Billie Jean of Bach’s second Prelude from The Well Tempered Clavier.

    5 Lacrymosa Blues

    From Mozart’s Requiem in D Minor, this suggested to me a classic Blues feel with its 12/8 time signature.

    6 Chopin Chops (Waltz in C# Minor)

    I’ve always wanted to play this Chopin tune. However, its ebbing and flowing tempo in places meant much experimentation in finding a tempo which rides all sections. Played as a jazz waltz.

    7 Swan Lake Swing

    Tchaikovsky’s simple yet beautiful melody is given a jazz ballad treatment.

    8 Partita in E Major

    Famous as a violin solo piece, this was also present in Bach’s Lute Suites. This was from a live video take by PD3 (Pete Downes Trio) and was previously released on their album Song for Sophia. Check out the PD3 video.

    9 La Catedral Rock

    The first movement of the Augustin Barrios piece as an introspective rock ballad.

    10 Prelude no 3 in C# Major

    The third prelude from Bach’s Well Tempered Clavier. Watch the video: https://youtu.be/lNjfDHALBAo


    Pete Downes: electric and acoustic guitars, bass on track 10
    Alex Lofoco: electric bass on tracks 2,3,4 and 5 (www.alexlofoco.com)
    Andy Coe: double bass on tracks 1, 6. 7. 8 and 9
    Tim Bruce: drums and percussion all tracks Show less
    Read more
  • Uploads Play all

    This item has been hidden
to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...