East Van Digital

  • Longwalkshortdock - I'm Forgetful

    2,058 views 4 months ago
    East Van Digital presents our 11th full length LP, Longwalkshortdock "Squashing Machine".

    Longwalkshortdock is a king among men. He's a Dave King, to be precise, a man reportedly born on the moon and raised on a diet of metal, analog synthesis, and '80s Nintendo game scores. His dynamic live presence reflects his colourful upbringing, mashing together seemingly disparate musical influences into limb flailin', button pushin', party rockin' performances that touch on the entire gamut of genre and emotion. It's difficult to distill that kind of visceral experience into the form of an album, but, while the pieces were just coming together in his 2009 debut Casual Tea and his mood took a turn for downtempo wistfulness in 2011's Bigger Fish Frying, his third album is clearly the closest that this friendly lunatic has yet come to that impossible dream.

    All of King's years of toiling away thanklessly in the studio have paid off with his most fully-realized full-length. Squashing Machine excels on all levels. His production has never been more sophisticated and hardcore, and his vocals never more emotionally nuanced. The onslaught of bone-crushing bass persists through much of the record, launched by the humorous gibberish of deathno rocker "I'm Forgetful" and bit-crushed banger "Choked By Robots", yet there is a sense of space between the massive lower-frequencies outlined by crisp percussion and all those layers of evocative melody.

    Consider the atomic pads à la Boards of Canada blending with a propulsive stuttering electro breakbeat on "Protest", the traces of 8-bit and acid in the uptempo electro-house of "8 Minutes" offsetting King's ethereal falsetto, or compare the delicacy of the piano outro on "Fat Mess" to the rising gnarl of "Dark Matter". The emotional resonance of his brutally honest vocals has never been more moving than in the jazzy, surreal trance-dub of "Addictions" and the downtempo breakbeat of "No Way Out", yet it's so easy to simply drift away in the complexity of their aural settings. All of these moments are invitations into his incomparable sound that no sane person can turn down.

    Squashing Machine is King's crowning achievement. It's an epic journey of style and substance on which few other producers would dare to embark. But that's Longwalkshortdock for you. He goes beyond.

    Release Date:
    April 3rd, 2015

    Direct Purchase Links:

    EVD Store



    01 — I’m Forgetful
    02 — Choked By Robots
    03 — Last Crawl
    04 — Fat Mess
    05 — Protest
    06 — Addictions
    07 — 8 Minutes
    08 — Lost The Will To Strive
    09 — Wreck It
    10 — Dark Matter
    11 — Lackadaisical
    12 — No Way Out

    All tracks CanCon.
    Tracks 6, 9, 10 language warning.

    Licensing Contact:
    info@eastvandigital.com Show less
    Read more
  • Uploads Play all

    This item has been hidden
  • Liked videos Play all

    This item has been hidden
  • This item has been hidden
to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...