The Flautadors Recorder Quartet
  • bavardage THE FLAUTADORS recorder quartet [FHR55]

    473 views 1 year ago
    Excerpts from the album 'bavardage'

    Catherine Fleming | Merlin Harrison | Celia Ireland | Ian Wilson
    Sophie Creaner, Tabea Debus & Mirjam-Luise Münzel recorders (tracks 4 & 11)
    Matthew Frost, Megan Landeg & Elaine So triangles (track 4)

    The Flautadors recorder quartet are the UK’s leading recorder ensemble and celebrate 20 years of making music together with a recording of some of their most popular contemporary music. This, their 5th album release ‘bavardage’, shows an appealing mix of minimalist, folk & global influences, from selected works of particular significance from Europe, Asia and America. Performed on 56 different recorders, The Flautadors showcase the tonal spectrum of the recorder through many different forms but all with a common root – simplicity and clarity of musical expression or sound.

    This recording features première recordings including one from 2016 British Composer Award winner, Leo Chadburn.

    “the repertoire is delightful, the playing first-rate, and the recorded sound ideal” (Fanfare)

    “expertly and beautiful performed”
    (American Record Guide)

    “Beautifully poised and deliciously played” (Gramophone)

    “The Flautadors play with elegance and skill. Their ensemble is excellent” (International Record Review)

    Scottish TRADITIONAL (arr. Ian Wilson)
    1 Ca the yowes *
    2 Dandy Dancer * Maki ISHII (1936-2003)
    3 Black Intention IV (1980) Arvo PÄRT (1935-)
    4 Arbos (1977) David MURPHY (1970-)
    5 Bavardage (2002, rev. 2016) † Scottish TRADITIONAL (arr. Ian Wilson)
    6 Brose and Butter * Ryōhei HIROSE (1930-2008)
    7 Idyll 1 (1976) Leo CHADBURN (1978-)
    8 De la Salle (2001) † Scottish TRADITIONAL (arr. Ian Wilson)
    9 Niel Gow’s Lament *
    10 The Deil Amang the Tailors * Terry RILEY (1935)
    11 In C (1964) (première recording of this work featuring a recorder ensemble) Peter Maxwell DAVIES (1934-2016) (arr. Ian Wilson)
    12 Farewell to Stromness (1980) *
    Première recording of arrangement * • Première commercial recording †

    Recorded at St Jude-on-the-Hill, London, UK, 26-27 May, 2017
    Produced & engineered by John Taylor • Mastered by David Murphy (FHR)
    24bit, 96kHz hi-resolution recording & mastering
    Album cover photo taken by David Bebber

    ℗ & © 2017 The copyright in these sound recordings is owned by First Hand Records Ltd. Show less
    Read more
  • Uploads Play all

    This item has been hidden
to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...