Subscription preferences


Loading icon Loading...


J Joe Townley

J JoeTownley: Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor--Opus 2 (newer audio)

1,570 views 9 months ago
"...probably one of the best "romantic" piano concertos of the XXIst century..."
"...this equals if not beats Saint Saens' G minor Piano Concerto ."
" Fantastic ending![Original Finale]"
" This ending [Original Finale] hits my chills...I cannot really link this to anyone else's style."
" Beautiful harmonies...The overall energy of the [last] movement is fantastic!"
" I was so enthralled by the opening movement that I just listened to the whole piece at once."
" A masterpiece - Rachmaninoff himself couldn't have done it better. "
"OMG!!! did you compose this??! It completely amazed me from the first seconds...It's like a
Rachmaninoff concerto, but it's still your style, your creation. I loved it. Thank you"
"I could listen to it 100 times."
"...this sounds simply brilliant. "
"...20 seconds in and [I'm] just amazed! Beautiful sir! well done!"
"...let me thank you for this piece "
" I have to say I love your piano concerto!"
" A masterpiece! - beautiful work!"
" It's a great concerto. BRAVOOOOOOOOOOO!!! "
" Beautiful!! Bravissimo!! "
" Your concerto is awesome!!
"...let me thank you for this piece. "
" Beautiful day to you all my friends! With the cold comes and settles we will be able to listen to music longer. I share with you today a beautiful piano concerto, a contemporary musician, jjoe Townley. Good listening to this magnificent work so! (The Piano Concerto No. 1 is available on the google page ....)."

2-piano 4-hand score at

If the score is blurred go to the 'settings' cogwheel under the red timeline bar on the RH side of the screen. Click on it to lower a viewing menu. Click '720p HD'. Clicking Full Screen also sharpens the image.

Download 2-piano 4-hand score at

I wrote two piano concertos in 2011 and 2013 to fulfill a promise I made to myself as a young piano student that I would write a piano concerto and then premiere it much in the same way Rachmaninoff did with his 2nd, my intention being to launch a career as a composer, pianist, & conductor. Well, fate had other plans---a severe finger injury grounded me as a pianist at 19 and I never wrote that concerto. Instead, I entered the business world. The dream eventually faded, though it apparently had been lying dormant somewhere underneath my psyche in the intervening decades. In the meantime, to keep my music skills alive and because I enjoyed it immensely I read orchestral scores as leisure reading--analyzing how great composers achieved the sounds they were after; the different combinations of instruments they used. Then one day a few years ago an innocuous tune just popped into my mind. The old dream bubbling beneath my consciousness suddenly surfaced and I finally committed myself to writing that piano concerto, which became the No.1 in F# Minor Opus 1 (also here on YouTube), not having any formal training in orchestration except what I had gleaned from reading orchestral scores in the intervening years. Later, on reflection, I came to realize that the Concerto No. 1 wasn't the concerto I had always wanted to write. A second one followed in 2013, the one you're listening to, Opus 2, which is that concerto.

1st Movement (quasi una Fantasia) Intro: 0:02 - Main Theme 0:32
2nd Movement (Scherzo) 7:54
3rd Movement (Valse Triste) 13:02
4th Movement (Finale) 16:14

Thanks to my good friend (and fellow composer), Bryan Ho, this score finally has a decent audio. Bryan, himself has written some marvelous compositions, among them a wonderful Harpsichord Concerto in the Baroque style.

This version of the Concerto No. 2 has the revised fourth movement with a fast, brilliant ending. The video with the fading sunset is the original fourth movement with a softer, more serene ending--the ending which I prefer. A more recent version has a bright red sunrise and is labeled "Concert Revision". It combines the added material of the "Original Version" with the more brilliant ending of the music score video.
A video with the concerto's original slow, tender ending is located at

A few idiosyncrasies in the notes occurred in the score-to-score transfer. Fortunately 99% of the notes are intact.

The concerto is heavily cyclical, in that many themes and motifs appear here and there throughout the four movements, sometimes in fragments and sometimes in full; sometimes in their natural tempo, sometimes augmented, and sometimes diminuted. Have a little fun trying to spot them. Show less
Read more
to add this to Watch Later

Add to