Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Feb 3, 2016
Filmed in Autumn 2015, experience the three unique lighthouses of Hants County, located along the Bay of Fundy, Nova Scotia.
Burnt coat Head Lighthouse: Originally built in 1859, it was torn down in 1913 and replaced by a new square wooden dwelling, which in turn was purposely burned down in 1972 and replaced with a skeleton mast. The current lighthouse is replica of the 1913 light, which was built by a community group and opened in 1995.
Walton Harbour Lighthouse: Originally built in 1872, this beacon was was extinguished in 1986 after the local gypsum quarry, which closed in 1978, resulted in the stoppage of commercial shipping. After its closure, the lighthouse was thankfully saved by two individuals. In 1991, the Municipality of East Hants acquired the lighthouse, and the location received heritage status in August 1992.
Mitchener Point Lighthouse: The original 1908 wooden tower & lantern was replaced by a fibreglass tower in 1972. Deactivated in 2001, this beacon is now privately owned & surrounded by private property. We are grateful to the owner for allowing us access to obtain footage for this project.
Subscribe to our channel to get the latest videos posted for our Nova Scotia Lighthouse Project (we're working to capture all 175 of them in the province!), and check out the other lighthouse and landscape drone videos we currently have airing. Cheers!