Anton Arensky: Piano Trio no. 1 in D minor op. 32 (1894)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 13, 2016

I. Allegro moderato II. Scherzo: Allegro molto III. Elegia (adagio) IV. Allegro non troppo

"In his youth” wrote Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, “Arensky did not escape some influence from me; later the influence came from Tchaikovsky. He will quickly be forgotten.” Although the comments on influence are fair, the dismissal is quite unjustifiable, as listeners to Arensky’s First Trio will agree. Like Tchaikovsky’s Trio, written in memory of Anton Rubinstein, Arensky’s Trio is also dedicated to a deceased friend, the cellist Karl Davidov. The first two movements, with their frequent dance-like invocations, are followed by a more sombre elegy. The final movement recalls earlier themes on its way to an exciting climax and a muted coda.

Igor Karsko, Jozef Luptak and Jonathan Powell give a committed performance at the 2016 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...