Soft Machine - As Long as He Lies Perfectly Still [Live] - Anthology [1963-1970 Disc 2]





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Mar 12, 2010

Soft Machine - As Long as He Lies Perfectly Still [Live] - Man in a Deaf Corner- Anthology [1963-1970 Disc 2]

MAN IN A DEAF CORNER includes 6 rare pre-Soft Machine tracks recorded during the band's formative years.

Recorded between 1963 and 1970. Includes liner notes by Brian Hopper.

MAN IN A DEAF CORNER is a two-disc anthology of work Soft Machine recorded between 1963 and 1970. One of the most prominent and influential of Britain's progressive/fusion bands, Soft Machine went through many line-up changes and did a lot of stylistic exploration during the time span covered here. In fact, given the poor documentation of the recording dates, it is somewhat difficult to track who is playing what when, but Soft Machine veterans Robert Wyatt, Michael Ratledge, and Kevin Ayers all appear at some point, as does original member Daevid Allen.

Buyers should note that the anthology is not a collection of studio tracks, but rather a compilation of live recordings, many of them quite rare. The first disc contains the earliest and least structured material. These largely instrumental outings are of a free-jazz nature, and suffer a bit from poor recording quality. The second disc is stronger musically and in terms of sound quality, capturing the group's live sound at the end of the '60s and the jazz-fusion elements that would ultimately define their sound. While MAN IN A DEAF CORNER is not an ideal introduction to the band, it will prove essential to collectors and completists.

2-CD set contains 26 of the very best tracks from this classic British progressive rock band. It's a great mix of live & studio material, tracing the band's varied musical history. Features the songs "Belsize Parked," "Dear Olde Benny Green Is A Turning
All tracks have been digitally remastered.

Soft Machine: Robert Wyatt (vocals, cornet, drums); Daevid Allen (guitar); Hugh Hopper (cello, bass); Brian Hopper (soprano & alto saxophones); Mike Ratledge (piano, organ); Kevin Ayers (bass).Q (4/01, p.128) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...Offers glimpses into some of their early experiments...tracing their evolution back to jam sessions in drummer Robert Wyatt's parents' house, with Wilde Flowers painted as a temporary distraction..."

As Long As He Lies Perfectly Still* (4:58)
- Jakko Jaksyk / guitar, vocals
- Dave Stewart / keyboards, flute arrangement
- Hugh Hopper / bass
- Gary Barnacle / flutes & saxes
- Clive Brooks / drums

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...