Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Jan 7, 2010

Music video for the "A Place To Bury Strangers Remix" of the excellent track "Die Happy Die Smiling" by MAPS

"Die Happy, Die Smiling" Available for download Jan 12th 2010Taken from the MAPS album "TURNING THE MIND" out now

Pre-order Vicissitude now and receive a digital copy of 'I Heard Them Say' immediately plus 9 bonus MP3's & audio parts to create your very own Maps remixes. All CD & Vinyl orders signed by Maps.

Signed pre-order edition - http://bit.ly/112Ki5M

Standard CD - http://smarturl.it/vicissitudecd
Vinyl - http://smarturl.it/vicissitudelp
iTunes - http://smarturl.it/vicissitudeitunes

The new Maps album, 'Vicissitude', is out on 8 July.


Background information
Birth name James Chapman
Origin Northampton, England
Genre(s) Shoegazer, Indie rock, Electronica
Years active 2006-present
Label(s) Mute Records
James Chapman
Maps is the recording name used by Northampton-based musician James Chapman. An obvious influence on Chapman are Spiritualized, whom "he loves", Galaxie 500, My Bloody Valentine, and Low. He recorded Start Something EP by himself on his 16-track recorder, and released it on his own label Last Space Recordings in 2006, which was met with some critical acclaim. The single Don't Fear polled at No 26 in NME's top 50 singles of 2006. Critical acclaim was followed by his first full album entitled We Can Create, released on Mute Records on 19th May 2007. His first North American release To the Sky EP, was released digitally on May 22 on the same label, followed by his debut album on June 19.

"My band sounded a bit like The Stone Roses meets Spaceman 3, they sounded like Devo," he says for The Independent.

"It Will Find You" has been released as a single, with another track, "You Don't Know Her Name", being released on 30th July, 2007.

On 17th July, 2007 it was announced that We Can Create had been nominated for the Mercury Music Prize. Since its release, the album has been seen as a critical success even though sales have been fairly modest.

MAPS frontman James Chapman was recently interviewed by Liberation Frequency Online Magazine.

James is supported by four local musicians for live shows. Phil Thurlby & Matthew Roberts on keyboards and vocals, Andrew Lowther on bass and Ben Gordelier on Drums.

Frontman James claimed in an interview to reply to every MySpace message he receives personally. Discography

"Start Something" (03 Oct 2005 - OP1)
"Lost My Soul" (06 Mar 2006 - OP2)
"Don't Fear" (30 Oct 2006 - OP3)
"Start Something EP" (13 Nov 2006 - OP4)
"It Will Find You" (07 May 2007 - MUTE375)
"You Don't Know Her Name" (13 Aug 2007 - MUTE378)
"To The Sky" (08 Oct 2007 - MUTE396)

"Let Go Of The Fear"
"I Dream Of Crystal"
"Die Happy, Die Smiling"

We Can Create (14 May 2007)
Turning The Mind (2009)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...