DIIV - Is the Is Are [Full Album]





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Feb 4, 2016

Buy on Captured Tracks:
Buy on iTunes:

01. Out of Mind (0:00)
02. Under the Sun (3:07)
03. Bent (Roi’s Song) (6:53)
04. Dopamine (12:34)
05. Blue Boredom (feat. Sky Ferreira) (16:30)
06. Valentine (19:03)
07. Yr Not Far (22:21)
08. Take Your Time (25:41)
09. Is the Is Are (30:39)
10. Mire (Grant’s Song) (33:48)
11. Incarnate Devil (39:22)
12. (Fuck) (44:05)
13. Healthy Moon (44:21)
14. Loose Ends (48:33)
15. (Napa) (51:47)
16. Dust (53:30)
17. Waste of Breath (58:03)

Is the Is Are, the highly-anticipated sophomore release from Brooklyn-based DIIV, is an album years and many personal struggles in the making for it’s architect, Zachary Cole Smith. Recorded and mixed in various locations in Brooklyn, it showcases everything you know and love about DIIV, and many things you did not, all with an added nuance and depth. It is a 17-song, double-album statement intended to resonate with its audience in much the same way that Bad Moon Rising or Tago Mago has for Smith himself. An extension and deepening of the musical ideas first expressed on 2012’s critically-lauded Oshin, Is the Is Are yields a multiplicity of textures, lyrical themes, and moods. It is a more diverse world than Oshin, with different parameters and ideals. Dark and honest to a fault, the new songs are dynamic, loud, quiet, sad; they are songs that hiss and snarl; songs that, as Smith wrote recently, represent “the real me.” Smith’s vocals, too, are much closer to the foreground, layered legibly on top of tidal waves of shimmering guitar and melodic bass weaving in and out, leaving a distinct and indelible imprint.


Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/chillwavve


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...