Tchaikovsky's: MANFRED Symphony (Conductor, Xian Zhang)




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 7, 2013

Tchaikovsky: MANFRED (Conductor, Xian Zhang)
-(Russian: Пётр Ильи́ч Чайко́вский; tr. Pyotr Ilyich Chaykovsky; 7 May 1840 -- 6 November 1893)

Xian Zhang, Conductor
Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi
London, PROMS
Royal Albert Hall 2013

Chinese-American conductor Xian Zhang directs the 'Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano Giuseppe Verdi' in the Byronic epic that closes the season's Tchaikovsky symphony cycle.
Written between Tchaikovsky's Fourth and Fifth Symphonies, Manfred is Russia's Harold in Italy, a work inspired by the programmatic symphonies of Berlioz and depicting the death of a tormented Faustian hero with supernatural gifts and a guilty secret.

Ref: BBC & et (c)


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...