Loading...

Poor Sportsmanship.mpg

1,178,828 views

Loading...

Loading...

Transcript

The interactive transcript could not be loaded.

Loading...

Loading...

Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jun 23, 2010

Base runner intentionally slams into the player at first base. It appears the runner is trying to injure the first baseman. Very poor sportsmanship.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License

Comments • 2,846

Kimberly Olson
this legal, the runner was doing what she was supposed to do, round 1st base. 1st base should of got out of the way. We are taught to run over the player if they don't have the ball and if they are in the way of running, then you can run them over. the 1st base player shouldn't of been on the base, the ball was a pop fly, she should of know that.
View all 51 replies
Mr. Jacob 346
Kimberly Olson she was running strait the turned to the left a little a pushed her
Screw Off
But the thing is, the runner purposely stepped on the right side of the bag then turned her shoulder to hit her in the back.
Hide replies
Dylan Robertson
It's called rounding the base. You use the edge of the bag to push off therefore it's the first base girls fault. After all runners have right of way. 
View all 14 replies
Jcurvs99
+Dylan Robertson you don't round the bases on an infield fly if the first baseman is standing on the bag that means the ball is in the infield you don't round the base on an infield hit you run through the bag you stupid fuck
Janelle
I'm guessing you don't play
Hide replies
Jim Dogg
Absolutely legal play.  Don't stand in the runners path.  Coming up in little league, we were taught to run over anyone in runners path
View all 25 replies
Gouchgaz
But she was at the wrong corner too it was at second she should be at the other side and that was her ball
jeiskina
I agree with Jim, only in the sense that if the ball is dropped and the base runner runs into the first baseman, she will be awarded second bases for obstruction. 
Hide replies
poopyshlongbong
be aggressive be be agressive
Jack Ramsey
Clean play. It might look like she was running towards the basemen, but you would see she didn't lift her arms to run her over. Basemens fault.
View all 16 replies
Allan Berrios
at least i dont ump softball games becsue you sure sound like one dick 
Aiman Jarrar
No, you probably do it because you got so defensive and angry when I brought it up. LOL. Idiot. Learn how to umpire, you're a disgrace to the umpires like myself who have a passion and love for their craft.
Hide replies
j.d. Hogg
She was blocking the plate.  She fell like a girl!
View all 4 replies
j.d. Hogg
Listen I dont know the rules of softball, I dont even member posting the comment dude.
Cash2Money27
shes not blocking the plate? it was to the infield the runner isn't going to second she should have ran into foul. the runner was 100% wrong
Hide replies
Queen McCann
Why was the first base infielder in the way in the first place? that's why you get out of the way unless you wanna get slammed. it was also a pop fly so she should've moved out the way so she can be able to center herself with the ball and tag her out but no she decided to to move.
View all 8 replies
CV1989Colt
No.  The batter is going to first.  If that ball drops and the runner was running lazy, there is a possible play at 1st base.  About the only time there wouldn't be on an infield pop fly is if the infield fly were in effect, not the case here.  Now if the pop fly were to the OF then the 1st baseman is wrong and needs to vacate for the runner to round the base.  In this case, we have an assault by the runner who intentionally turned into the 1st baseman with intent.  She should be out and ejected from the game with a pending suspension.
CV1989Colt
Obviously you can't be taken seriously with that classless response.
Hide replies
Eddy M
why was the the fielder in her way?
joshjhutton
I know it looks as if the runner was acting aggressively, but the runner has the right to round the bag. The ball had not been caught yet and the first basemen was not making a play on the ball nor being a part of the play at all. If the ball had fallen, the umpire would have called obstruction and awarded the runner an extra base.
View all 17 replies
Alan Hess
+Corey Burnett    There is such a thing as incidental contact, where both players are doing what they are supposed to be doing and there is a collision. Not all contact requires an ejection.   I have seen the first baseman who doesn't have his head in the game go stand on first on a clean base hit and there is often a bump.  I don't have anything on this.  But if the fielder lowers his shoulder, or creates hard contact that could have been avoided, an ejection is required.  I've been umpiring mostly HS and American Legion ball. Been doing it for 25 years, and you know malicious contact when you see it. Even Legion ball, which is played under OBR, has added rules outlawing malicious contact.  It's a safety rule.  If a runner can avoid a fielder, then he must at least attempt to avoid.  Of course there is umpire judgement involved but we know it when we see it. I'll agree the the runner is not required to avoid contact unless a play is being made on him.  In your example if the second baseman is standing in the basepath, we probably have obstruction if the runner is impeded in any way. But the point is because he is obstructed he does not now have the right to just plow the defensive player.
Corey Burnett
+Alan Hess I guess the question is this - how do you know when it is "Malicious" contact - and not just regular contact?  Is it how hard the runner knocks in to the fielder?  If I'm running from first base to second base and the ball is in left field, the second baseman is completely responsible for getting out of my way.  You are right, it would not be right for me to lower my shoulder and smash in to the second baseman with an intent to injure.  But if I simply run in to the second baseman at full speed and we collide and fall to the ground - it should be obstruction.  The base runner is not responsible for avoiding contact in this situation - even in youth baseball/softball.  You could argue that the base runner is required to avoid "malicious" contact - but not all contact.  In the video you "might" be able to make the argument that the runner was being "malicious" in that it sort of looked like she intentionally lowered her shoulder in to the first baseman.  But that is a tough call to make.  It is hard to really know intent.  But I completely disagree with your statement above: "...the runner is responsible for attempting to avoid contact...".  I have coached youth baseball (I know it might be different than softball) for many years.  And we have had many, many plays exactly like this where the young first baseman doesn't realize he has to get out of the way of the runner rounding first on a double.  And usually the runner collides with the first baseman and in that situation the umpire has ALWAYS called obstruction.  He has NEVER ejected the base runner.
Hide replies
Kelsey Saager
the runner has the right to round the base, and since there was "no play" at first it's the first baseman's job to get out of the way of the runner. It easily could of been called obstruction on the first baseman. Yes, the runner could of taken it easier, but that's her right to round the base, and the first baseman's job to get out of the way when there's "no play" at first.
View all 4 replies
Ivan Guillen
+Shaybaybay wilson you clearly dont know anything about this sport ive seen pop flys drop all the time so why give up on ur play????? You finish strong never assume anything
Obo Hambo
+Kelsey Saager Yep. 12 years of first base culminating on the college level taught me. Get out of the way unless you're making a play on the ball. Plus a 1B has numerous more devastating ways to get even.
Hide replies
When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...