McCann: Walters, Holsclaw, & Christeson, August 2 & 12, 1957




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 29, 2015

Part of the Gordon McCann Folk Music Collection at the Missouri State Libraries’ Special Collections and Archives.

This session includes Tape 1 Sides A and B. Side A has two separate sessions recorded on two separate dates: August 2 & August 12 of 1957. This tape was recorded by Bob Walters and Lynn Holsclaw for Dwight Lamb while he was in the U.S. Army, stationed in France in August of 1957. Gordon states in his notes that Dwight Lamb sent this tape to him.

The tape begins with the introductions. Family and friends of Dwight Lamb are there. Dwight Lamb was also an artist, and these people sent him this tape to give him a little piece of home.

Bob Walters- fiddle, & Lynn Holsclaw- guitar:
1. "Coming Down from Denver" (in the key of A)
2. "Me and My Fiddle" (in A)
3. "Turkey in the Straw" (in A)
4. "Earl's Breakdown" (in G)
5. Unidentified tune (In A)
6. "Woodchopper's Breakdown" (in D)

At this point, everyone tells Dwight hello. Goldie, Dwight's mother, Dwight's father, Lynn. Bob states that they're having a little trouble among the yearlings.

7. "Trouble Among the Yearlings" (in D)
8. "Ladies on the Steamboat" (in G)
9. Unidentified tune (in G)
10. "Mother's Reel" (in C & G)

Recorded on August 12, 1957.

Bob Christison tells Dwight that there are a lot of people at his house, and they are going to play a little old time fiddle music for him. Bob Walters- fiddle, Lynn Holsclaw- guitar, and Bob Christeson- pump organ.

11. Unidentified tune
12. "Tennessee Wagoner" (in C)
13. "Arkansas Traveler" (in D)
14. Unidentified tune
...end tape 1 side A...

Side B
15. "Lonnie's A&E Rag" (in A & E)
16. "Cowboy Waltz" (in D)
17. "Lazy Kate" (in A)
18. "Lady on the Green" (in A)
19. "Whistling Rufus" (in G)
20. "Down Yonder" (in G)
21. "Wart on the Pump Handle" (in A)
22. "Red Apple Rag" (in G)
23. "Old Dubuque" (in D)
24. "Grey Eagle" (in D)
25. "Turkey in the Straw" (in G)
26. "Stony Point" (in G)
27. Unidentified tune(In G)
28. Unidentified tune (in D)
29. "Rainbow" (in D)
30. "Casey's Hornpipe" (in Bb)
31. "Some Rainy Day" (in Bb)

These recordings are made available for research purposes. The views expressed in the recordings are those of the individuals speaking and do not necessarily represent the views of Missouri State University. If you are a rights holder and need to contest the inclusion of this recording, please contact archives@missouristate.edu.

Some of this material may be protected by copyright law. Permission of the copyright holders is required for commercial use, reproduction, or anything beyond what is allowed by fair use.

Bob Walters 1957
Bob Walters-Bob Christeson.mp3


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...