Breaking Bad Opera by Sung Jin Hong, One World Symphony




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Apr 16, 2014

One World Symphony
Sung Jin Hong, composer-conductor
Jose Pietri-Coimbre: Walt/Heisenberg/Ozymandias

Sung Jin Hong: Breaking Bad — Ozymandias (2014, World Premiere)
January 2014, New York City

Inspired by the award-winning drama conceived and created
by Vince Gilligan and the sonnet by Percy Bysshe Shelley's


The opera Breaking Bad — Ozymandias consists of five movements:
I. Chemistry*
II. Fugue
III. The Moment*
IV. Jesse's Dream ("Bitch")
V. Ozymandias

*movements featured in this video

The composition explores the question: are we all breaking bad? Are we, to some extent, guilty of the Greek themes of "hubris" (extreme pride) in the pursuit of "arete" (excellence) and "kleos" (glory)?

Walt is haunted by the shadows of memories, ghosts of his regrets, and the bitter knowledge that those closest to him have paid the greatest price for his metamorphosis.

The length of the opera is almost 50 minutes.

Review by Classicalite:

Preview by Time Out New York:

Libretto compiled and arranged by Sung Jin Hong
Based on texts or dialogue by Percy Percy Bysshe Shelley, Sam Catlin, Moira Walley-Beckett, George Mastras, and Gennifer Hutchison

Photography: Jaka Vinsek
with contributions by Adrienne Metzinger

Video created by: Adrienne Metzinger


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...