Loading...

UK Championship 2009 Day 8. OSullivan — Higgins. Frame 13, weird situation

12,149,945 views

Loading...

Loading...

Transcript

The interactive transcript could not be loaded.

Loading...

Loading...

Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Dec 14, 2009

This is a fragment of frame 13 of Pukka-Pies UK Championship 2009 semifinal between Ronnie OSullivan and John Higgins, where a foul magically let Ronnie escape a miss sequence. Was Jan Verhaas right not to call a miss?

From BBC Sport live event coverage with commentary by Dennis Taylor, John Virgo.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License

Comments • 1,548

He Ka
how the hell did I end up here ?!!
View all 3 replies
Hide replies
Darkcazter Gareborg
one second im watshing worlds best drummer, other second im here...
View all 21 replies
Hide replies
Mark Kilmer
I know nothing about this game and watched the whole thing and have no idea why
View all 6 replies
Hide replies
howsyourdangler
This shot explained: When ronnie missed the brown or yellow on his first six attemptsthe referee called a foul AND a miss. Because a miss was called John had 3 options: 1. Take the next shot himself (on a red) from where the cue ball landed. 2. Make ronnie take the next shot (on a red) from where the cue ball landed. 3. Have the white replaced and ronnie re-attempt the shot (ie hit a nominated colour ball). John decided to go for option 3 above on each occasion when ronnie missed the yellow or black. On ronnie's seventh attempt he accidentally touched a ball with his finger or cuff. The referee called a foul. He did NOT call a foul and a miss, because he is unable to declare this type of foul a miss. This left john with only option 1 or 2 above, that is either go for a red himself or allow ronnie in to go for a RED. John asked the referee to put ronnie back in to go for a colour (as in option 3 above), but the referee explained that he did not call a miss and so option 3 above was unavailable. john then attempted to take option 1 and go for a red himself. The ref declared touching ball (as he must do). Only then did john notice that it was NOT touching ball, but the ref told him that it should have be touching, and if if was not touching then it should have been when he replaced the white after ronnies 6th attempt. The referee then moved the white in to touch the red to correct his error. John could still have asked ronnie to take the shot on a red, but instead opted to take the shot himself. He played away from the red in an atttempt to find the baulk cushion for safety. if john had asked ronnie to take the shot himself ronnie could have played away also. The referee got it spot on as per the rules. This situation highlighted a potential flaw in the miss rule which should be addressed, but at the time the ref called the foul as per the laws of the game. Regarding the referee not replacing the cue ball correctly after ronnie's sixth attempt, this is ok because it did not materially change rommies original shot. Only when john decided to play the shot on a red himself did it matter, and then it was corrected. There are many cases where after a miss many balls are scattered around the table. In this case the ref will do everything he can to place the key balls back as close as he can to their original positions(ie white, object ball, snookering balls), but be happy with a rough placement of the remaining balls if they do not affect the shot. Hope this helps.
View all 30 replies
Hide replies
Felipe Forlin
Came here because I searched for snooker strange situations :) also, great sportsmanship by Ronnie by intentionally not potting the red after the controversy
jupo
i obviously dont understand the rules of snooker. wth am i doing here?
View all 8 replies
Hide replies
scoobysass
Just to show I will watch anything instead of working.
View reply
Hide replies
Edgar Pifflewiff
i'm a big snooker fan but what the fuck is going on in this video
View all 3 replies
Hide replies
Pavel Poledno
Ronnie OSullivan is the best snooker player on Earth .
View all 5 replies
Hide replies
Thais Machry
Mr.Beaam és Tu ?
View all 11 replies
Hide replies
When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...