Feinberg - Piano Sonata No. 3; III "Sonata" (Part 1/2)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Nov 7, 2008

Part one of the third "Sonata" movement from Feinberg's Piano Sonata No. 3 Op. 3 (1916). This part contains the exposition and its repeat. Part two begins with the development section.

Samuil Feinberg (1890-1962) was a major Russian pianist-composer in the early 20th-century. He was an acclaimed virtuoso with an eclectic repertoire and an esteemed teacher at the Moscow Conservatory. Today, he is mostly remembered for his Bach transcriptions and various recordings. However, his compositional output is substantial and his piano works, despite influences from Scriabin, are original, intense, and extremely virtuosic. Unlike Scriabin, he preferred a sound world of angst and pessimism. By 1934, Feinberg ceased playing his darker works in public. He also stopped composing in his early style and instead created simpler pieces according to Socialist Realism.

Note: I realize the timing of this scrolling score is off in some areas. Indeed, the transitions are hardly precise, but I can only do so much with Feinberg's "dense, almost impenetrable jungle of notes" as Larry Sitsky says.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...