Hans Otte: The Book of Sounds, Part 1





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 24, 2012

Performed by R. Andrew Lee (http://randrewlee.com)

Das Buch der Klänge / The Book of Sounds (1979-1982)
Hans Otte (1926-2007)

From the score:
This "Book of Sounds" rediscovers the listener as a partner of sound and silence, who in the quest for his or her world, wishes for once to be totally at one with sound.

The "Book of Sounds" rediscovers the piano as an instrument of timbre and tuneful sound with all its possibilities of dynamics, color, and resonance.

This "Book of Sounds" rediscovers playing as the possibility of experiencing oneself in sound, of becoming at one in time and space with all the sounds around one.

This "Book of Sounds" rediscovers a world of consonant experience which could only now be written because of a totally changed consciousness of sounds on earth.

Directions for Playing:
Pedal is indicated only where necessary; however, free use is recommended. In particular, use half or quarter pedal for fading over sound events within the framework of the sound areas in order to bring out all the resonances of the individual piece and of the instrument.

For the same reasons of an individual's choice, the dynamics of each piece are also only sketched in. The player should use every opportunity to intensify sound color and to guide the harmonic course and the shape of the piece.

Again, the duration of the individual pieces depends on the artistic capability of the player. It is up to the player's creativity to introduce the sound figures which are to be repeated with such diversity that their nature develops freely.

Metronome markings may be interpreted freely.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...