Loading...

The propaganda of 'British values' is a distortion of history – Akala | In my opinion

32,808 views

Loading...

Loading...

Transcript

The interactive transcript could not be loaded.

Loading...

Loading...

Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 5, 2016

Manners, aristocracy, freedom: all things we tend to think of as inherent British values. But, says rapper Akala, we are taught a distorted version of history which erases serious political struggle. That, he argues, is what really bought us the fragile freedoms we have today

Subscribe to The Guardian ► http://is.gd/subscribeguardian

6x9 experience solitary confinement ► http://bit.ly/6x9gdn
The Guardian ► http://is.gd/guardianhome

Suggested videos:



Guardian playlists:

Comment is Free ► http://is.gd/cifplaylist
Guardian Docs ► http://is.gd/guardiandocs
Guardian Features ► https://goo.gl/JThOzd
Guardian Animations & Explanations ►http://is.gd/explainers
Guardian Investigations ► http://is.gd/guardianinvestigations
The Global Migration Crisis ► http://is.gd/RefugeeCrisis
Anywhere but Westminster ► https://goo.gl/rgH1ri

More Guardian videos:

6x9: experience solitary confinement – 360 video ► http://bit.ly/6x9gdn
We Walk Together ► http://bit.ly/WeWalkTogetherFilm
The last job on Earth ► http://bit.ly/LastJobOnEarth
Patrick Stewart: the ECHR and us ► http://bit.ly/PatrickStewartS
The Panama Papers ► http://bit.ly/HowToHide1Billion
The Syrian Spaceman who became a refugee ► http://bit.ly/SyrianSpace
The epic journey of a refugee cat ► http://bit.ly/KunkuzCat
If I Die On Mars ► http://is.gd/IfIDieOnMars
We can't ban everything that offends you ► http://bit.ly/CensorshipCiF
Revenge Porn: Chrissy Chambers and her search for justice ► http://ow.ly/TUoOs
Mos Def force fed in Gitmo procedure ► http://is.gd/mosdef
Edward Snowden interview ► http://is.gd/snowdeninterview2014
Bangladeshi Sex Workers take steroids ► http://is.gd/sexworkers

Other Guardian channels on YouTube:

Guardian Football ► http://is.gd/guardianfootball
Guardian Music ► http://is.gd/guardianYTmusic
Guardian Australia ► http://is.gd/guardianaustralia
Guardian Tech ► http://is.gd/guardiantech
Guardian Culture ► http://is.gd/guardianculture
Guardian Wires ► http://is.gd/guardianwires
Guardian Food ► http://is.gd/guardianfood

Loading...

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...