Philippe Sands and the 2016 Baillie Gifford Prize shortlist at the British Academy





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.


Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Nov 28, 2016

This event was recorded at the British Academy on Thursday 10 Nov 2016.

Meet Philippe Sands, the 2016 winner of The Baillie Gifford Prize (previously The Samuel Johnson Prize) in an event recorded before the announcement was made.

The Baillie Gifford Prize is the UK’s premier prize for non-fiction books, covering subjects from current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts. Past winners of the prize include Antony Beevor, Margaret MacMillan, James Shapiro and Steve Silberman (pictured).

Chaired by:
Lorien Kite is the books editor of the Financial Times. He has been at the newspaper since 2000, working most recently as deputy comment editor and assistant analysis editor before taking on his current role in 2011. Prior to the FT he spent five years in publishing.

Find out more about the Baillie Gifford Prize here: http://thebailliegiffordprize.co.uk/


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...