Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Walkthrough Part 7





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Jun 21, 2009

Castlevania: Symphony of the Night is a 2D action-adventure game developed and published by Konami in 1997. Its Japanese title is Akumajō Dracula X: Gekka no Yasōkyoku (悪魔城ドラキュラX 月下の夜想曲, Akumajō Dorakyura Ekkusu: Gekka no Yasōkyoku?, lit. "Devil's Castle Dracula X: Nocturne in the Moonlight"). It is the 13th installment of the Castlevania series, the first installment released for the PlayStation and is a direct sequel to Akumajō Dracula X Chi no Rondo.

Symphony of the Night was an important milestone of the Castlevania series. It steered the series away from the standard level-by-level platforming formula of older titles and introduced a new style of open-ended gameplay mixed with RPG-like elements that would be emulated by most of its successors. A similar, earlier form of this type of gameplay existed in Castlevania II: Simon's Quest. The development of these features can be attributed to Koji Igarashi, the game's director and one of the team's newest members. Igarashi, a noted fan of 2D games,was instrumental in refining the game's control scheme. His primary motivation for the abrupt design change was seeing dozens of Castlevania games in the "used" bargain bin in Japanese video game stores, as linear Castlevania games offered limited replay value after completion.He also established an official Castlevania canon, in an attempt to tie up several loose ends in the series' time line during Symphony of the Night.Other notable staff include character designer Ayami Kojima and composer Michiru Yamane.

In 1998, Symphony of the Night was ported to the Sega Saturn, and exclusively released in Japan. It included extra features such as Maria Renard being a playable character and some adjusted enemy character graphics.

In 2006, Konami announced an Xbox 360 port of the PlayStation version of the game to be distributed via Xbox Live Arcade. The port was handled by Backbone Entertainment.It was the first Xbox Live Arcade title to exceed the 50 MB restriction placed upon Xbox Live Arcade games (The limit has since been increased to 350 MB). The exception was made for Symphony of the Night to "ensure that the gameplay experience is the best it can be".[5] Symphony of the Night for Xbox Live Arcade was released on Wednesday, March 21, 2007.

The PlayStation Network version, identical to the PS1 version compatible with the Sony PlayStation 3 and the Sony PSP was released on July 19, 2007 .

In 2007, Konami announced a port of Symphony of the Night would be included in Castlevania: The Dracula X Chronicles for the Sony PlayStation Portable. The game was released on October 23, 2007 in North America and features a retranslated script and new voice acting.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...