Igor Stravinsky - Elegy for Solo Viola (1944)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 12, 2009

Igor Stravinsky, Elegy for solo viola (1944)

Played flawlessly by Miles Hoffman.
(His channel is MilesHoffmanViola)

This short 5-minute work remains to be Stravinsky's only contribution to viola literature.
It has been said that world renowned violist William Primrose once proposed
commissioning a viola concerto from Stravinsky, but Stravinsky was not interested in the
project, so he went to Bartok instead who did agree to the offer. The Elegy was commissioned by Germain Prevost to honor the memory of Alphonse Onnou (1893-1940). Prevost, who was an extremely sentimental man, not only commissioned Stravinsky for this work, but also his friend Darius Milhaud, who wrote three works for viola and piano in memory of Onnou as well. Undoubtedly in the
war torn year of 1944, in which this work was composed, there were many victims
worthy of this somber token of remembrance.

Thank you for 45,000 views!


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...