Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Romeo and Juliet - Fantasy Overture





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 3, 2011

Romeo and Juliet is an orchestral work composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. It is styled an Overture-Fantasy, and is based on Shakespeare's play of the same name. Unlike Tchaikovsky's other major compositions, Romeo and Juliet does not have an opus number.

In 1880, ten years after his first reworking of the piece, Tchaikovsky rewrote the ending and gave the piece the sub-title "Overture-Fantasia". It was completed by September 10, 1880, but did not receive its premiere until May 1, 1886, in Tbilisi, Georgia (then part of the Russian Empire), under Mikhail Ippolitov-Ivanov.

Conductor: Julian Kovatchev
Orchestra: Sofia Festival Orchestra

Love Theme at 14:55

Paint: Il Bacio, Francesco Heyez (1859).

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Music

    • "Romeo e Gulietta, Andante Non Tanto Quasi Moderato - Allegro Giusto - Moderato Assai" by Orchestra Philharmonia Polonica, Karl Prisner, Orchestra Philharmonia Polonica, Karl Prisner Listen ad-free with YouTube Red


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...