Martin von der Heydt plays Schumann: Study in canon form op.56 no.4 (A flat major)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jan 24, 2011

Schumann: No.4 from '6 Studien in Kanonform für Pedalflügel' op.56
(transcribed for 2 hands by Clara Schumann)

played by Martin von der Heydt
Düsseldorf, Tonhalle, Dec 1, 2010

Schumann's little known '6 Studies in Canon Form op.56' contain some of the most beautiful music from his middle period. They are originally written for the pedal piano, a grand piano with organ pedals, which was in use during the 19th century. If you want to play these pieces on a common modern piano, you have to use a transcription in order to play the additional bass line. Clara Schumann arranged four of the Studies for two hands at the end of her life. Other transcriptions (for 4 hands) were made by George Bizet and Claude Debussy, among others.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...