LSO Soundhub: Viola Miniatures Part 2





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 20, 2012

Soundhub Showcase Concert, Friday 22 June, LSO St Luke's

Paul Silverthorne viola

Solo by Mark Simpson, Darren Bloom, Aaron Holloway-Nahum
This piece was written at the beginning of the pilot of the LSO's Soundhub Scheme for an LSO Discovery Lunchtime concert. Embedded in the 'Soundhub' scheme is the idea of a community of collaborating composers. With this in mind, we decided to each write a short movement of this work, and each based our compositions (in various ways) upon a piece violist Paul Silverthorne was already playing in the lunchtime concert: Britten's Lachrymae.

Club by Neil Luck
Club is a personal expression of my own frustration at having never learnt to play a stringed instrument.

Capriccio by Toby Young
Capriccio was written in 2011 as a virtuosic showpiece for solo viola. It is a highly playful work, switching between moods very quickly, and explores some of the many facets of this versatile and multi-faceted instrument (including flamboyant, delicate, lyrical, expressive, and even seductive!)

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...