Calling All Dawns - Movement of Day





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Nov 1, 2011

"Calling All Dawns" is a soundtrack from the video-game Civilization IV and is composed by Christopher Tin with the assistance of several, distinct groups. Now what makes the soundtrack unique is its means of expressing life through a circle of music and compares it to that of a day's metaphorical span- from the dawn life springs forth only to fathom into night and is reawaken by a dawn redivivus. There are three movements in the soundtrack and each corresponds and transitions accordingly to day's dawn, noon, and night.

The soundtrack listing comprises of 12 songs, each sung by a different culture.

Part I. Day

1. "Baba Yetu (feat. Soweto Gospel Choir)" Swahili (Kiswahili) 3:30
2. "Mado Kara Mieru (feat. Lia, Aoi Tada, Kaori Omura)" Japanese 4:45
3. "Dao Zai Fan Ye (feat. Jia Ruhan)" Mandarin (Chinese) 3:15
4. "Se É Pra Vir Que Venha (feat. Dulce Pontes)" Portuguese 4:14
5. "Rassemblons-Nous" French 4:27

Part II. Night

6. "Lux Aeterna" Latin 3:59
7. "Caoineadh (feat. Anonymous 4)" Gaeilge (Irish) 5:44
8. "Hymn Do Trojcy Swietej (feat. Frederica von Stade)" Polish 6:48

Part III. Dawn

9. "Hayom Kadosh" Hebrew 1:45
10. "Hamsafar (feat. Sussan Deyhim)" Persian (Farsi) 2:52
11. "Sukla-Krsne" Sanskrit 2:01
12. "Kia Hora Te Marino" Maori 3:18

The reason I was forced to consolidate each song into a movement as opposed to releasing each song was mostly in due to fear of copyright issues. Remixing this permits me to publish as a video of my own and untouchable from such delicacies.

"Calling All Dawns is Christopher Tin's debut album. It won two GRAMMYs at the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards: Best Classical Crossover Album, and Best Instrumental Arrangement Accompanying Vocalists (for the song 'Baba Yetu', which made history as the first video game theme to win a Grammy). It was started in 2005, and released October 1st, 2009, nearly four years after its conception.
Calling All Dawns is a song-cycle in three movements: day, night and dawn. Each movement corresponds to a different phase of life--life, death, and rebirth. In short, it's 5 songs about life, 3 songs about death, and 4 songs about rebirth. There are songs of joy, mystery, and hardship, reflecting the complexity of our mortality. There are songs of the deepest, darkest sorrow to accompany us through death. And finally, there are songs of triumph and exultation that bring us roaring back to life, beginning the cycle anew."


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...