Josef Bohuslav Foerster : String Quartet no. 4 in F op. 182




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 5, 2012

A deeply-felt performance of this evocative and rarely-heard late pendant to Czech romanticism, from the Stamic Quartet at the 2012 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival.

I: Allegro grazioso II: Adagio cantabile- Allegretto malinconico III. Allegro

Foerster, like his contemporary Leos Janacek (1854-1928), was part of the 'bridge generation' rooted in the Romanticism of Dvořak and Smetana and whose latter days coincided with radically new directions of music. Throughout his long and active career, Foerster however stayed true to the spirit of his earlier days when he had known, amongst others, Dvořak himself, Mahler and Tchaikovsky; echoes of all of these can be heard in his refined, lyrical and intimate Fourth Quartet, written in 1944 when the composer was 85. The first movement grows out of the expressive theme first announced as a solo; the wistful second movement has something of the spirit of a serenade, counterpoised with a folk-dance interlude; whilst the last movement has a gossamer texture through which the intensity of the former two movements is allowed to relax, before the opening atmosphere is recalled at the end.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...