The who-Tommy (full album).wmv





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Nov 10, 2012

In 1968, The Who headlined the first Schaefer Music Festival in New York City's Central Park and released the single "Magic Bus". In December, they took part in The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus, performing their mini-opera, "A Quick One While He's Away". Also that year, Townshend became the subject of the first Rolling Stone interview. Townshend said he was working on a full-length rock opera. This was Tommy, the first work billed as a rock opera and a landmark in modern music.
During this time the teachings of India's Meher Baba influenced Townshend's songwriting, continuing for many years. Baba is credited as "Avatar" on Tommy. In addition to commercial success, Tommy became a critical smash, Life saying, "...for sheer power, invention and brilliance of performance, Tommy outstrips anything which has ever come out of a recording studio," and Melody Maker declaring, "Surely The Who are now the band against which all others are to be judged."
The Who performed at the Woodstock Festival that year, insisting on being paid before going on stage early on Sunday morning when they played much of Tommy. During their performance Yippie leader Abbie Hoffman sat on the stage with concert organiser Michael Lang. Hoffman had been working the medical tent since the festival's opening act and was under the influence of LSD. Hoffman had become increasingly determined to publicise the case of John Sinclair, who had been given a 10-year jail sentence for passing two marijuana cigarettes to an undercover narcotics officer. Hoffman jumped up and grabbed a microphone during a brief lull in The Who's performance of Tommy saying, "I think this is a pile of shit, while John Sinclair rots in prison!" Townshend replied, "Fuck off! Fuck off my fucking stage!" and struck Hoffman with his guitar. Hoffman leaped off the stage and disappeared into the crowd.

Cara A
1. "Overture" - 5:21
2. "It's a Boy" - 0:38
3. "1921" - 2:49
4. "Amazing Journey" - 3:25
5. "Sparks" - 3:46
6. "The Hawker (Eyesight to the Blind)" (Williamson) - 2:13
Cara B
7. "Christmas" - 4:34
8. "Cousin Kevin" (Entwistle) - 4:07
9. "The Acid Queen" - 3:34
10. "Underture" - 10:09 Cara C
1. "Do You Think It's Alright?" - 0:24
2. "Fiddle About" (Entwistle) - 1:26
3. "Pinball Wizard" - 3:01
4. "There's a Doctor" - 0:23
5. "Go to the Mirror!" - 3:49
6. "Tommy, Can You Hear Me?" - 1:36
7. "Smash the Mirror" - 1:35
8. "Sensation" - 2:27
Cara D
9. "Miracle Cure" - 0:12
10. "Sally Simpson" - 4:12
11. "I'm Free" - 2:40
12. "Welcome" - 4:34
13. "Tommy's Holiday Camp" (Moon) - 0:57
14. "We're Not Gonna Take It" - 7:08

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...