J.S. Bach: Life and Works - 1/2





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jul 31, 2008

Stunningly filmed in locations throughout central Germany, "J.S. Bach: Life and Works" sets a new standard for artful filming of music performance. A rare DVD featuring excellent performances of a variety of Bach works in the context of locations the music was intended for: churches and castles. Includes the first filmed performance on the recently reconstructed Wender organ in Arnstadt where Bach worked early in his career. Extra features include a 21-minute documentary film on the life and work of J.S. Bach, narrated in five languages (English, German, Spanish, French & Japanese).


- Toccata & Fugue in D minor BWV 565 (Gottfried Preller, organ; Bach Church, Arnstadt; Wender organ reconstructed by Otto Hoffmann Orgelbau of Ostheim)

- Cantata "Gott ist mein König" BWV 71 (Telemann-Kammerorchester and Choir; St. Mary's Church, Mühlhausen)

- Concerto in C BWV 984 after Johann Ernst von Sachsen-Weimar (Christine Schornsheim, harpsichord; Weimar Castle)

- Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major BWV 1048 (Telemann-Kammerorchester; Köthen Castle)

- Motet "Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf" BWV 226 (Thomanerchor Leipzig, conducted by Thomaskantor Georg Christoph Biller; St. Thomas Church, Leipzig)

- Excerpts from "The Art of Fugue" BWV 1080 (Dresden String Trio; Old Bourse, Leipzig)


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...