Himala ( with lyrics) ~ Rivermaya





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jul 6, 2010

...NO COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT INTENDED...Formation and early years (1993) The first line-up consisted of Jessie Gonzales on vocals, Kenneth Ilagan on guitars, Nathan Azarcon on bass, Rome Velayo on drums, and Rico Blanco on keyboards.

By November 1994, the band had released its first album, the self-titled Rivermaya, and its first single, "Ulan"; followed by "214". Critically praised for its fresh, excitingly new pop/rock sound, the album went on to become one of the best acts in the 1990s.

Citing artistic differences, de Castro was adamant in leaving the group and founded his own band, Triaxis, De Castro's departure made Rico Blanco the full time guitarist of the band.

The band's second album Trip, followed with the singles "Kisapmata" [Blink of an Eye], "Himala" [Miracle], and "Panahon Na Naman" [Here Comes the Season]. Whilce Portacio, creator of the X-Men's "Bishop" and co-founder of Image Comics, designed the album art for Trip.

In 1997, the band released its third album, Atomic Bomb, with the single "Hinahanap-hanap Kita" [Always Searching For You]. The album gained positive responses from listeners and received heavy airplay from radio stations. During this period, Rivermaya also released the "Rivermaya Remixed" album, put together with the help of DJ Toti Dalmacion of Groove Nation.

The band then embarked on a US and Canada tour. It was also at this time that Bamboo Mañalac decided to stay in the U.S. (He eventually went on to form his own band, Bamboo in 2003).
Rico Blanco performing.
Rico Blanco, the chief composer of the band; he later became the band's full time guitarist when Perf de Castro left a year after their debut album was released & later became the band's frontman after Bamboo's departure in 1999.

Rivermaya decided to forge on, with Rico Blanco taking on lead vocals and released their fourth album, It's Not Easy Being Green containing the singles "Nerbyoso" [Nervous], "Shattered Like", and "Rodeo".

The band released its fifth studio album, aptly called Free, entirely for free on the Internet as well as on CDs distributed at their gigs. Free went on to be named "Best Album of 2000" at the NU Rock Awards.

Nathan Azarcon departed from the group signaling a new lineup change. Completing the lineup were new guitarists, Victor "Kakoy" Legaspi (from blues band Mr. Crayon) and Mike Elgar (from 7 Foot Junior) as well as Japs Sergio (from Daydream Cycle) on bass guitar.

Together, this lineup released Tuloy ang Ligaya ['The Fun Continues'], preceded by the EP "Alab ng Puso" [Fire of the Heart], featuring a remix by Raimund Marasigan's Squid 9.

The band released the albums Tuloy ang Ligaya and Between the Stars and the Waves, producing the singles "Umaaraw, Umuulan" [Sometimes It Shines, Sometimes It Rains], "Wag Na Init Ulo, Baby" [Don't Be Mad, Baby], "A Love to Share", "Balisong" [Butterfly Knife], "Sunday Driving", "Table for Two", "241 (My Favorite Song)", and "Atat" [Eager].

Legaspi resigned in 2004.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...