Richard Strauss - Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40 Part 2





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Jun 8, 2011

"Ein Heldenleben" Op. 40 (A Hero's Life) is a tone poem by Richard Strauss. The work was completed in 1898, and heralds the composer's more mature period in this genre.
"Ein Heldenleben" is a through-composed, circa fifty-minute work, performed without pauses, except for a dramatic general pause at the end of the first movement. The movements are titled as follows (later editions of the score may not show these titles, owing to the composer's request that they be removed):
1. Der Held (The Hero)
2. Des Helden Widersacher (The Hero's Adversaries)
3. Des Helden Gefährtin (The Hero's Companion)
4. Des Helden Walstatt (The Hero at Battle)
5. Des Helden Friedenswerke (The Hero's Works of Peace)
6. Des Helden Weltflucht und Vollendung (The Hero's Retirement from this World and Consummation).
Throughout "Ein Heldenleben" Strauss employs the technique of leitmotif that Richard Wagner used so liberally, but almost always as elements of its enlarged sonata-rondo symphonic structure.

Valery Gergiev & London Symphony Orchestra.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...