Bartok Music For Strings, Percussion & Celesta (Fricsay) I




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 31, 2009

The first part of Bartok's masterpiece, a slow, dark piece of music based on the idea of the fugue. It is actually at the same time a tribute to and a radical overturn of traditional (classical and baroque) counterpoint and harmony.
Here the RIAS symphony Orchestra under Ferenc Fricsay, who was Bartok's student, deliver an incredible, stunning performance. For me this is the best version ever of this work and it is a shame that Deutche Grammophone could not record it in stereo. Still you can listen to Fricsay's genius approach to Bartok's work and the orchestra's superb level, a combination that, for me, is unsurpassed until today, although admittedly I have not heard every single recording out there, but still I have many.

  • Category

  • Suggested by HAAWK for a 3rd Party

  • Song

    • Bart¨®k - Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta - 1. Andante tranquillo - DNC
  • Artist

    • Fricsay, Ferenc - RIAS Sym Orch Berlin (DG 1957,54)
  • Album

    • album281218
  • Licensed to YouTube by

    • HAAWK for a 3rd Party


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...