Lorenzo Pagliei - Uno: courbes




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 10, 2010

Uno: courbes for solo piano, is a study on arpeggios and polyphony.
The basic idea is to create a perceptible polyphony using only an arpeggio gesture, a single line.
A rapid and wide upward arpeggio is repeated more and more so that it generates a static harmony.
At the umpteenth repetition an element of the arpeggio (a fifth) slightly moves from his position, pointing the listener's attention on that movement. At the next repetition the movement continues creating a true "voice" that the ear can follow due to the little pitch shifting.
As soon as the melodic contour is established, another element of the arpeggio starts to move.
Lines become 3, then 4 and so on. A more and more complex polyphony of melodic fragments is created. But it is an illusion, a product of the ear because the pianist always plays a note at a time, a single line throughout the pièce.

The piece is dedicated to the pianist Andrea Corazziari

copyright Edizioni Suvini - Zerboni, Milan


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...