The Evolution of Racing Helmets | Donut Media





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Aug 12, 2016

Watch all of our evolution videos here:

From the early days of the soft shell helmets to today’s hard shell designs, the racing helmet has evolved to keep pace throughout history.

25% of racing accidents end in hospitalization -- more than any other sport. However, only a small percentage is due to head injury, thanks to the advance of one tool -- the helmet. #SafetyFirst

Check out more Donut Media Videos: https://youtu.be/Pz8IGLgFE2s?list=PLF...

Some of our best videos ever are coming out soon, stay tuned so you won't miss a thing!
►Subscribe here: http://bit.ly/1JQ3qvO

Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/donutmedia/

Click here if you want to learn more about Donut Media: http://www.donut.media/

Special thank you to Darren Jack of Hall of Fame Collection.
Instagram @halloffamecollection

Music by Insightful
Insta: @insightful
Soundcloud: http://www.soundcloud.com/insightfulone

List of helmets by year and driver:

1906 Lewis Strang
1911 Lewis Strang
1929 Fred Roberts
1936 Louis Meyer
1949 Bill Holland
1951 Andy Linden
1957 Troy Ruttman
1958 Jimmy Bryan
1962 Eddie Sachs
1963 Parnelli Jones
1966 INDY500 Field
1966 Jim Clark
1967 Jackie Stewart
1968 Graham Hill
1970 Sir Jack Brabham
1970 Swede Savage
1972 Al Unser
1973 Mark Donohue
1978 Bobby Unser
1979 Johnny Rutherford
1981 Tom Sneva
1982 Mike Mosely
1984 Gordon Johncock
1986 Danny Sullivan
1987 Al Unser Jr.
1987 Bobby Rahal
1988 John Andretti
1989 Robby Unser
1990 Arie Luyendyk
1991 Mario Andretti
1991 Nigel Mansell
1992 Rick Mears
1992 Scott Pruett
1993 Jacques Villeneuve
1993 AJ Foyt
1993 Johnny Herbert
1995 Maricio Gugelmin
1996 Emerson Fittipaldi
1996 Jimmy Vasser
1997 Alex Zanardi
1998 Tony Stewart
1999 Kenny Brack
1999 Michael Andretti
2000 Jarno Trulli
2000 Juan Pablo Montoya
2000 Christiano Damatta
2001 Gil deFarren
2001 Eddie Cheever
2003 Paul Tracy
2005 Jack Villeneuve
2005 Dan Wheldon
2005 Buddy Rice
2006 Buddy Lazier
2009 Scott Dixon
2010 Will Davison
2010 Helio Castroneves
2010 Ryan Briscoe
2011 Jenson Button
2012 JR Hildebrand
2012 Dario Franchitti
2012 Sebastian Bourdais
2012 Alex Tagliani
2013 Tony Kanaan
2013 Will Power
2015 Simon Pagenaud
2016 Gabby Chaves

Donut Media is at the center of digital media for the next generation of automotive and motorsports enthusiasts. We are drivers, drifters, and car enthusiasts who love to tell stories.

The Evolution of Racing Helmets


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...