2016 Ateneo Art Awards




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 19, 2016

Three visual artists and 2 art writers made up this year’s winners for the Ateneo Art Awards’ Fernando Zobel Prizes for Visual Art and Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize for Art Criticism.

Martha Atienza (A Study in Reality No. 3), Rocky Cajigan (Museumified), and Nathalie Dagmang (Dito sa May Ilog ng Tumana: A Sensory Investigation on the Contradictory Relationship of Barangay Tumana with the Marikina River) were declared winners for the Fernando Zobel Prizes for Visual Art. Dagmang was also named recipient of 2 international residency grants: Artesan Gallery + Studio in Singapore and Liverpool Hope University- Creative Campus in England. Atienza won the La Trobe University Visual Arts Center residency grant in Australia.

For the Purita Kalaw Ledesma Prize for Art Criticism, Pristine de Leon won for her essay “Owning the Image: Exploring Lopez Museum’s Political Cartoons and the Pleasures of Residence.” Part of de Leon’s prize is a regular column at the Arts and Culture section of The Philippine Star that will be published twice a month for a year.

For his entry “Chambers of Reflection: A Critique on Mark Justiniani’s ‘Reverb,” Dominic Zinampan was declared the first winner of the Purita Kalaw Ledesma Prize- ArtAsiaPacific Magazine. Zinampan received a writing engagement with the magazine and will contribute 6 articles for a year.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...