Solomon Burke-"Don't Give Up on Me" from "Don't Give Up on Me" LP





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Nov 24, 2011

Don't Give Up on Me is a studio album by R&B/Soul singer Solomon Burke, recorded and released in 2002 on Fat Possum Records. The album won the MOJO Award for Album of the Year, as well as the Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Blues Album. It is noteworthy for the contributions of original and previously unreleased compositions by top-rank songwriters, the effect of which placed Burke back in the public eye for a time. Guest stars are Daniel Lanois, who plays electric guitar on "Stepchild", and The Blind Boys of Alabama, who feature on backing vocals for "None of Us Are Free". "None of Us Are Free" was also featured at the end of the sixth episode (Spin) of the second season of House. "Fast Train" was featured during the ending montage of the season three finale of The Wire.

The title track, written by the team of Dan Penn and Carson Whitsett with Hoy Lindsey, gained popularity (and introduced Burke to a new generation) when it was used several times on the teen soap opera The O.C. It has been covered by Joe Cocker, as well as Peter Gallagher.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Music

  • Song

  • Artist

    • Solomon Burke
  • Album

    • Don't Give Up On Me
  • Licensed by

    • WMG (on behalf of Epitaph - ADA); CMRRA, and 8 Music Rights Societies


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...