YouTube home National Registration Day


Glenn Gould live in Moscow 1957, (5) Krenek Sonata, movements 1 and 4





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Nov 21, 2010

Part 5.

May 12, 1957. From a lecture and performance at the Small Hall of the Moscow Conservatory. This was during Gould's May 1957 tour of Moscow and Leningrad.

The whole program was the following:

A. Berg (1885-1935)
Piano Sonata, Op. 1
Allegro Moderato--8.30

G. Gould speaks on the composers
of New Vienna School (demonstrating
an excerpt from the Passacaglia for Orchestra
by A. Webern)--5.18

A. Webern (1883-1945)
Piano Variations, Op. 27--4.43

G. Gould speaks on E. Krenek--1.25

E. Krenek (b. 1900)
From Piano Sonata No. 3,
Op. 62 No. 4
1. Allegretto piacvole,
animato e flessible--4.48

4. Adagio--6.00
G. Gould thanks the listeners--1.26

J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
From "Die Kunst der Fuge", BWV 1080
Contrapuncti 1, 4, 2--10.15

From "Goldberg Variations", BWV 998
Variations 3, 18, 9, 24, 10, 30

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License
  • Music


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...