John Cage: Suite for Toy Piano (1948)





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 20, 2011

John Cage (1912-1992): Suite for Toy Piano (1948).


Margaret Leng Tan, Toy Piano.

Cover image: painting by Blinky Palermo.

The suite is in 5 short, numbered movements. Obviously it employs a very limited gamut of tones: the nine white keys from E below middle C to F above. Movements I and V are limited to five tones: G to D. Only in the movements III and IV all nine tones appear. The rhythmic structure is 7-7-6-6-4.
The suite is one of Cage's most charming and whimsical compositions. It is a humorous and ironic piece, giving exaggerated dynamics that can't be realized (on a toy piano) from sffz to ppp.
In 1963 Lou Harrison made an arrangement for orchestra (3333 4330 timpani, percussion, piano, celesta, harp, strings), published by C.F.Peters (nr.6758a). (fonte web).


The music published in our channel is exclusively dedicated to divulgation purposes and not commercial. This within a program shared to study classic educational music of the 1900's (mostly Italian) which involves thousands of people around the world. If someone, for any reason, would deem that a video appearing in this channel violates the copyright, please inform us immediately before you submit a claim to Youtube, and it will be our care to remove immediately the video accordingly.

Your collaboration will be appreciated.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...