YouTube home Register to vote


Mars Education Challenge Award Reception





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Mar 13, 2011

Mars Education Challenge Award Ceremony
Thursday, March 10 - 5:30-7:00 PM
Marriott Marquis San Francisco
Golden Gate Room, Salon C1

MEC was sponsored by The GenCorp Foundation, Aerojet, The Louis L. Stott Foundation, and the Massachusetts Space Grant Consortium. Our partner organizations include NSTA, The Planetary Society, The Moon Society, and SEDS.

Introduction: Chris Carberry, Executive Director, Explore Mars, Inc

MEC Overview: Artemis Westenberg, President, Explore Mars, Inc.

NASA Speaker: Liza Coe (Education Programs, NASA Ames Research Center)

Marie Wiggins - NSTA

Award Presentation: Bill Nye (Executive Director, The Planetary Society)

Grand Prize Winner

- Howard Lineberger, of Durham Academy Upper School in Durham, NC - NOT Present at Reception

Runner-Up Prize Winners
- Andrew Hilt, of West Bend West High School in Westband, WI
- David Black, of Walden School of Liberal Arts in Provo, UT

- Brendan Casey, of the Alpine Union School District, Alpine, CA - Not present

- Leonard Bacon, of Maple Hill High School in Castleton-on-Hudson, NY - NOT present

Closing remarks: Artemis Westenberg
Explore Mars, Inc would like to thank our partners and sponsors -
National Science Teachers Association, Aerojet, The GenCorp Foundation, The Louis L. Stott Foundation,
The Planetary Society, The Moon Society, The Students for the Exploration and Development of Space, and the Massachusetts Space Grant Consortium

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...