The Diary of Tortov Roddle - complete series




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Aug 5, 2011

Aru Tabibito no Nikki (2003) aka The Diary of Tortov Roddle
Animation by Kunio Katou.

His name is Tortov Roddle, and he is a traveler from Tortalia. Along with his unusually large companion of a pig (seemingly a relative of the Dalí elephants), the slender Tortov travels from place to place, always finding a new and beautiful adventure at his destination. These include islands carried by frogs, fish that live in cups of coffee and a land where a movie is projected on the back of a giant bear. It all makes for a quiet adventure of peaceful contemplation. There is no dialogue, only inserts from Tortov´s diary.

The episodes were originally produced for the internet in a solo effort by the director and only animator. There´s a total of nine episodes of which the first six constitute the original 16 min. movie:

1. The City of Light
2. Midnight Cafe
3. The Little Town's Movie Gathering
4. Moonlight Travellers
5. The Melancholy Rain
6. The Flower and the Lady


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...