BEETHOVEN: Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Minor, Op. 37





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Sep 14, 2007

Passing Through: http://www.youtube.com/user/PassingTh... - Friends, Please visit my Poet friend "Passing Through's" YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/PassingTh... , and support him - Thanks :)

3. Rondo: molto allegro

Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37 was composed in 1800, and first performed on April 5, 1803 with the composer as soloist.

As is standard for concertos, it is in three movements:

1. Allegro con brio
2. Largo
3. Rondo: molto allegro

About two and a half minutes pass in the first movement before the orchestral introduction is intruded upon by C minor scales forcefully announcing the piano's entrance. The coda is similarly dramatic, emanating from very quiet trills, moving faster, resulting in a regal yet dark climax.

The second movement is in E major, opening with a much-admired melody for the solo piano.

The final rondo begins in C minor, ending with a presto in C major.

The concerto was incomplete at its first performance. Beethoven's friend, Ritter von Seyfried, who turned the pages of the music for him that night, later wrote:

"I saw practically nothing but blank pages. At the most I noticed here and there a few hieroglyphics which meant absolutely nothing to me, but which he had scribbled down to provide him with a few milestones. He played almost the entire solo part by memory; as was often the case, he had not had time to commit it all to paper".

(We appreciate Wikipaedia's contributions in the descriptions here)

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...