Kühnel - Partita for Viola da Gamba in A Minor - Mov. 1-3/5





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Uploaded on Aug 11, 2008

AUGUST KÜHNEL (1645-c.1700)

Partita No. 13 for solo viola da gamba in A minor

1. Prelude

2. Allemande

3. Corrente

Performed by John Dornenburg

*August Kühnel was a German gambist and composed a single opus in the middle baroque era.

August Kühnel held appointments at various German courst, beginning at age sixteen as a gambist in the court chapel of Duke Moritz von Schsen-Zeits in 1661. His further education included a year in Paris where he polished his technique and learned the French style. Unsettled conditions in Germany caused him to travel at various times; he was in London in 1682 and again in 1685, playing solos on the baryton, according to the "London Gazette". His single publication, "Sonate o Partite ad una o due Viole da Gamba con il Basso Continuo" of 1698 contains fourteen compositions in a mixtue of Franch and Italian styles from a German perspective.

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...