Karlheinz Stockhausen - Erwachen





Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on May 18, 2012

Erwachen l Awakening (2007) für Violoncello, Trumpete und Sopransaxophon. 12. Stunde aus KLANG.

Just before the fourth main section of this trio the performers speak in unison the words "Erwachen in Gott" (Awakening in God)

Hour 6 to 12 from KLANG are all based on material originally intended for the fifth hour, Harmonien. Except for Glanz, the titles of these trios - Schönheit, Balance, Glück, Hoffnung, Treue and Erwachen - are amongst the "noble words" found in Türin, which are meant to "hold open the Heaven's Door" of the fourth hour, Himmels-Tür. Türin is a 13-minute electronic work to accompany Himmels-Tür

Dirk Wietheger - violincello
Marco Blaauw - trumpet
Marcus Weiss - soprano saxophone

After having spent 27 years composing the opera-cycle Licht (1977-2004), Stockhausen felt he was shifting his focus from the visible world of the eyes - Licht is the German word meaning "light", as of the stars, the sun - to the invisible world of the ears.

Klang, means "sound", acoustic vibrations, but for Stockhausen, above all "the INNER EAR, for the divine Klang, the mystic sound of the beyond with the voice of the conscience, in German: die Stimme des Gewissens"


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...