Grand Prix 2: Gilles Villeneuve/Ferrari - Portugal 1982 [13/16]




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 17, 2013

Driver: #27 Gilles Villeneuve (Canada)
Car: Ferrari 126 C2
Engine: Ferrari 021: 1496cc, 120° V6 turbo, mid-engine, longitudinally mounted
Gearbox: Ferrari 6-speed manual
Grand Prix 2 power rating in race/qualifying: 540/580 HP
Grand Prix 2 weight: 595kg
Tyres: Goodyear 'B' compound (Medium)
Fuel: Agip 102 RON
Car failure probability: 13282/32767 [40.5%]
Difficulty: Ace (no driver aids)

Villeneuve's victory here makes him and Ferrari the world champions of 1982 with three races still to go.

A strange race. The surface of the track was slippery, and three stops might have been better. I was waiting for the car to fail, but it never did. Pironi's did, continuing a run of bad luck and destroying any chance of an interesting end to the season. Poor Patrese suffered a technical failure on the final lap, dropping from a close 2nd to 4th. Renault finally got both cars on the podium, but too late in the season for a title challenge. A great shame.
(Who is to blame for Andretti's retirement, and what happened to Lauda?)


1st Gilles Villeneuve (Ferrari) 1h 44m 04.150s
2nd Alain Prost (Renault) +48.679s
3rd Rene Arnoux (Renault) +1m 17.389s
4th Riccardo Patrese (Brabham-BMW) -1 lap
5th Andrea de Cesaris (Alfa Romeo) -1 lap
6th Nigel Mansell (Lotus-Ford) -1 lap
7th John Watson (McLaren-Ford) -1 lap
8th Keke Rosberg (Williams-Ford) -1 lap
9th Michele Alboreto (Tyrrell-Ford) -2 laps
10th Elio de Angelis (Lotus-Ford) -2 laps
11th Jacques Laffite (Ligier-Matra) -3 laps
12th Bruno Giacomelli (Alfa Romeo) -3 laps
13th Brian Henton (Arrows-Ford) -3 laps
14th Raul Boesel (March-Ford) -4 laps
15th Jochen Mass (March-Ford) -4 laps
16th Riccardo Paletti (Osella-Ford) -4 laps
17th Manfred Winkelhock (ATS-Ford) -4 laps
18th Mauro Baldi (Arrows-Ford) -4 laps
19th Teo Fabi (Toleman-Hart) -4 laps
20th Didier Pironi (Ferrari) Transmission
21st Derek Warwick (Toleman-Hart) Oil Leak
22nd Slim Borgudd (Tyrrell-Ford) Throttle
23rd Niki Lauda (McLaren-Ford) Didn't Finish
24th Nelson Piquet (Brabham-BMW) Transmission
25th Mario Andretti (Williams-Ford) Didn't Finish
26th Eddie Cheever (Ligier-Matra) Transmission

Fastest Laps:

1st Gilles Villeneuve (Ferrari) 1m 22.675s
2nd Riccardo Patrese (Brabham-BMW) +2.505s
3rd Nelson Piquet (Brabham-BMW) +2.531s
4th Alain Prost (Renault) +3.743s
5th Didier Pironi (Ferrari) +4.013s

Championship for Drivers:

1st Gilles Villeneuve 75*
2nd Didier Pironi 37
3rd Nelson Piquet 32
4th Riccardo Patrese 32
5th Alain Prost 21
6th Keke Rosberg 15
7th Andrea de Cesaris 13
8th Elio de Angelis 12
9th Michele Alboreto 9
10th Niki Lauda 9
11th Eddie Cheever 8
12th Mario Andretti 7
13th Rene Arnoux 7
14th John Watson 7
15th Bruno Giacomelli 7
16th Jacques Laffite 6
17th Nigel Mansell 6
18th Derek Warwick 5
19th Slim Borgudd 5
20th Brian Henton 4
21st Manfred Winkelhock 3
22nd Teo Fabi 2
23rd Jean-Pierre Jarier 2
24th Jochen Mass 1

Championship for Constructors:

1st Ferrari 112*
2nd Brabham-BMW 64
3rd Renault 28
4th Williams-Ford 22
5th Alfa Romeo 20
6th Lotus-Ford 18
7th McLaren-Ford 16
8th Tyrrell-Ford 14
9th Ligier-Matra 14
10th Toleman-Hart 7
11th Arrows-Ford 4
12th ATS-Ford 3
13th Osella-Ford 2
14th March-Ford 1

Victory in both the driver's and constructor's championships, on "Ace" mode with none of the driving aids enabled.


to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...