Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart : Clarinet Quintet in A major, KV 581




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 24, 2015

I. Allegro II. Larghetto III. Menuetto – Trio I – Trio II IV. Allegretto con Variazioni
Like his Clarinet Concerto, and the ‘Kegelstatt’ Trio K. 498 the Clarinet Quintet was written by Mozart for the soloist Anton Stadler. Written in 1789, while the composer was working in his opera Cosí fan tutte, and first performed in December of that year, it was originally conceived for the basset clarinet, slightly deeper than the modern instrument. The melodic richness of the quintet and its expressive use of the deep chalumeau register of the clarinet are key elements of this masterpiece.

A fine performance by Ronald Šebesta and the Czech Philharmonic Quartet at the 2015 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...