You're viewing YouTube in English (US).
Switch to another language: | View all
You're viewing YouTube in English.
Switch to another language: | View all

Traditional Catholic bishops consecrated at Ecône in 1988





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.


Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Oct 5, 2006

The controversial Episcopal consecrations of 30 June 1988 performed at Econe, Switzerland, by Archbishop Marcel Lefebvre with the support of Bishop Antonio de Castro Mayer. The Archbishop raised four traditionalist priests of the Society of Saint Pius X to the level of bishop in order that they might continue the work of the Society long after his death.

The Archbishop founded the Society in 1970 to maintain Catholic Tradition in the face of the changes sweeping through the Church following the Second Vatican Council (1962-65). After a turbulent eighteen years involving conflict with Church authorities and increasingly strained relations with Rome, the Archbishop performed the consecrations despite opposition by the Pope.

The Pope soon after issued a condemnation stating that the Archbishop and the four new bishops had incurred excommunication. Despite this the Archbishop, the bishops, and the Society at large continued on regardless. Today the Society numbers 450 priests, 230 seminarians, many brothers and sister, and many schools, priories, and churches throughout the world.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...