Joseph Haydn : String Quartet no. 22 in G major op. 17 no. 5




Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Sep 17, 2016

I. Moderato II. Menuetto III. Adagio IV. Presto

By 1771/2, when this G major quartet was written, Haydn had begun to move away from the divertimento form of his early quartets to the ‘classical’ four-movement form. The principal characteristic remains a solo violin accompanied by three subsidiary lines – this is particularly noticeable at the end of the first movement development section, where the violin launches into a solo recitative leading to the return of the opening theme. This also prepares the listener for the extensive recitative solos in the slow movement.

Played by the Kodaly Quartet at the 2016 Indian Summer in Levoca Festival. Concert given with the support of the Hungarian Institute in Bratislava.


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...