KU symphony memorializes 9/11: Journey to Carnegie — Part 2





The interactive transcript could not be loaded.



Rating is available when the video has been rented.
This feature is not available right now. Please try again later.
Published on Mar 15, 2013

Purchase the symphony, “In the Shadow of No Towers,” on iTunes: http://bit.ly/GTQYiE and Amazon: http://amzn.to/1ewqLCo

This is the second of three videos in the series, “Journey to Carnegie: From Concept to Concert Hall,” about how a Kansas organization, an acclaimed composer, and University of Kansas musicians collaborated on a symphony about life in the post-9/11 world.

In Part 2, Paul Popiel, the director of the KU Wind Ensemble, and members of the ensemble describe the process of learning, understanding, and polishing the symphony for its debut in New York City’s renowned Carnegie Hall. The symphony’s world premiere was March 26, 2013, in Carnegie Hall’s Stern Auditorium/Perelman Stage. The Kansas premiere was April 2, 2013, at KU’s Lied Center.

The composer, Mohammed Fairouz, named the symphony “In the Shadow of No Towers.” Fairouz was inspired by the comic book of the same title by Pulitzer Prize-winning graphic novelist Art Spiegelman. Reach Out Kansas Inc. commissioned the symphony for the KU Wind Ensemble.

Find out more about the project: http://www.ku.edu/carnegiehall

  • Category

  • License

    • Standard YouTube License


When autoplay is enabled, a suggested video will automatically play next.

Up next

to add this to Watch Later

Add to

Loading playlists...